A Christmas Reflection

As the Christmas lights dim and carolling ceases,

Children’s toys litter the floor in pieces –

My reflective mood comes to the surface again;

Time to stop and pick up the pen!

I’m too old to believe in fairytale life,

As I read of bushfires and growing strife,

Yet there’s something that gives me hope for the ‘morrow –

Setting my confidence, parting from sorrow.

I keep coming back, knowing once more,

I must share these thoughts, each heart I implore;

That babe in the manger not weak as we thought –

He took on hell and in power he fought –

His death stamping out the sting in our own;

We no longer had to go it alone.

Hope came to us that Christmas night –

And when all has gone dark, He will be our light.

Traditions come and go but His love will remain,

Holding us through seasons of joy and pain;

Guiding us when our way is unclear –

Steadfast every day of the year.

© M. Patterson 2.1.20

Published by MezPatto

I love to write poetry and prose from the heart, uplifting and connecting with others. Hope you enjoy reading it!

4 thoughts on “A Christmas Reflection

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started