Back To Where It All Began

There’s something to be said for having a do-over. Almost twelve years ago, I gave birth to my firstborn in the same birthing suites where I will be returning to in the next three months. Today’s appointments in that area of the hospital made me realise that I still have some healing to do. E-man’s birth was nothing short of traumatic. Up until today, I felt like I couldn’t return to a similar scenario and be able to cope. As the midwife read through the birth notes, I learnt that E-man’s life was in danger and that is why everything happened so fast in the end, not favouring my comfort but solely focussing on restoring that baby heartrate to normal. Today I have a strong and thriving tween who will never know the extent of what I went through. I felt proud knowing that my pain meant he had no lasting damage. I knew, for the first time today, that the obstetrician had the ultimate good in mind, even though at the time, it felt like he didn’t look after me as much as I had hoped. Today I navigated the maze of corridors alone, feeling empowered and that I could get through the pain that is to come. I saw a cute image of my baby in 3D and treasured all those precious fetal movements so much more than before. In a few short weeks I will have my do-over. I’m not going to let my last labour be an unpleasant one. I will focus on the gift of life which is soon to be in my arms, thankful that he is strong, perfectly formed and ready to meet the world.

Published by MezPatto

I love to write poetry and prose from the heart, uplifting and connecting with others. Hope you enjoy reading it!

2 thoughts on “Back To Where It All Began

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started